Tags

, , , , , , ,

“My son, attend unto my words…they are life unto those that find them, and health to all their flesh.” Prov. 4:20, 22

When I first read this passage and knew little about the bible, I thought it simply meant scripture would heal my body. You could have called my literal belief fundamentalism or “word of faith.” I had no idea such styles of belief existed or that churches approached scripture in different ways. I was sick and wanted to get well, desperately. In all honesty, salvation and acceptance by God took a back seat to my quest for healing.

I had a lot to learn.

Considering how men and women through the centuries have devoted decades to comprehending scripture, we all have much to learn. And then sometimes . . . simple little faith, or, incredibly, crooked little faith, carries us right to the heart of God.

I did not know much about God or theology, but it looked to me like his words would heal me. So, I listened to scripture, prayed verses aloud, and took scratchy little copies of meaningful passages with me everywhere I went. Child-like. Simplistic, but when you’re facing symptoms no doctor seems to cure, whether severe depression, symptoms called schizophrenia, or any illness considered “incurable,” sometimes you’re reduced to nothing more than a whimpering child.

Other days you fight like Odysseus. Or all 30 of David’s mighty men, put together.

At other times you pray day and night like Anna in the temple.

At your weakest moments, you might only quote one verse that has anchored your soul through all your troubles. Or one name. Jesus. Adonai. Jehovah Rapha.

I latched on to one verse which, thankfully, led me to value all the words of scripture. Did healing come because I listened to scripture and spoke the verses in prayer? Because I had faith in specific verses?

Like the blind man healed by Jesus, who could not explain the specifics to those who questioned him, I can only say this: The details in scripture of so many healings, such as those recorded in Matthew 8-9, gave me hope in God’s ability and willingness to touch my life in powerful ways. He did.

Over the years l have witnessed astounding healings and surprising sufferings. Scripture directed my outlook, belief, and actions during every season. God’s words stilled my soul. The Psalms voiced all my grief and complaints along with surrender to his will. The verses strengthened my ability to trust in God, whose ways I did not understand.  I believe they can do the same for you.

I’ve included some of those scriptures for you to listen to here, Psalms And Prayers. Regardless of what you believe about how you might become healed, listen to God’s words and let him touch your heart, mind, and body, whichever way He chooses . . . powerfully or simply. Always lovingly.  If you’d like to hear more, leave a comment for me.

“For the word of God is living and powerful and sharper than any two-edged sword, piercing even to the dividing asunder of soul and spirit, and of the joints and marrow, and is a discerner of the thoughts and intents of the heart.” Hebrews 4:12

